An introduction of my Lynskey R260

this is a very late introduction, actually

One year has been passed since I got Lynskey R260 rim brake frame. My first road bike and also my first titanium bike (I had a steel cross bike before). Got the frame after won an auction on eBay for one third of the retail price. Actually this frame was last year stock that remained at Lynskey warehouse at that time. So they offered it as an auction.

Months before get into the auction, I had read many sources then I found myself tend to get a bike with frame that made from titanium or stainless steel rather than any other kinds of frame. But the price of those two frame successfully made me stayed away until the day I found an auction that I couldn’t resist.

I got the XS size. I was afraid the frame will be too small for me but glad that it is not. need to be mentioned that the size of the frame is in American standard since all Lynskey frame were built in USA. So the small size most likely medium for Asian.

The frame itself made from alloyed of 3% vanadium, 2.5% aluminum, and the rest is titanium. The frame has an industrial milling finish which actually is random direction brushed finish. The result make it shiny without unnecessary glossy. I love the polished bare metal look rather than painted one. Looks sturdy and beautiful. I can’t stop looking at it.

After I got the frame, I started to buy the other components. I completed the bike with full Shimano 105 R7000 group set (except for bottom bracket which is Dura-Ace, and cassette which is Ultegra), Columbus fork, Vision wheel set, pair of Continental tire, Ritchey handlebar, Selcof stem, Fizik seatpost, Selle Italie saddle, and a pair of flat mountain pedal. I didn’t find the need to use road pedals yet. Just dislike the idea to attach my shoes to the bike as I want to release myself from the bike as fast as possible when I crash. Of course I don’t want to face any crash, but just in case.

For the front rim brake, I chose black color as it matches black fork. For the rear rim brake I chose silver color as it matches polished titanium color. Small details but it is important.

The scale showed that my complete bike is about eight and half kilograms. I found it is heavier than most of carbon fiber and some of expensive aluminum frame bike with equivalent size. But I am not a weight weenie guy who always cares about being light weight. What I want is a long lasting decent bike that I can hand over to my child or even my grand child later. That was why I tend to have titanium or stainless steel as this two material has strength (and that is isotropic vs carbon that is not isotropic), rust resistant (superior vs steel), UV resistant (superior vs carbon), and comfortable to ride (superior vs aluminum frame).

I never rode other than steel bike before but really love the titanium feeling which some people mentioned it as titanium magic. Not an actual magic, titanium is well known as springy metal because it is strong and flexible enough to dampen small vibration from the road, make it more comfortable to ride.

I use this bike for daily commuting to office and I cycle 25 kilometers a day. Often enough until one day I felt like I lost my balance while walking but had no problem when I am on my bike.

I really want to make a video of my bike’t point of view while riding, but I don’t have any portable action camera yet. Once I had, I definitely will do it on Nikko hilly curve road (in Tochigi prefecture, Japan).

DSC_0067_1-01_resize_87

I like the name of the frame, R260. Letter R stands for my name initial and 26 is number I like the most.

She is beautiful, isn’t she? Her name is Mona

One thought on “An introduction of my Lynskey R260

Leave a comment